Social Media Success

When it comes to social media, censorship is a common concept. American author, Amy Jo Martin said it best: It’s a dialogue, not a monologue, and some people don’t understand that. Social media is more like a telephone than a television.” Recently retired U.S. Air Force Brig. Gen. John Michel, shared social media tips via Twitter: be consistent, show respect, be authentic, craft a strategy, don’t be robotic, and watch your words.” Although I agree with all of his tips, I believe that in order to be successful in the social media industry, one needs more than six tips.

I would add: include relevant videos (i.e. Vines, YouTube, VEVO, Tmblr, etc.) whenever possible, catchy content, and or mention familiar people and companies affiliated with your company, and finally, be creatively redundant. Fortunately, my assigned client, Old Spice, exercises all of the mentioned social media tips. It is my selected client, the Hilton Worldwide that struggles to adhere to all of the tips. For example, my selected client would benefit more from exercising the social media tips: be authentic, don’t be robotic, include relevant videos, include catchy content, and be creatively redundant. I would suggest that my selected client begin responding to guests via social media in a more timely, unique, and authentic manner. I would also suggest that my selected client approach guests with more promotions, and offer more incentives for past and potential guests via social media. I believe if my suggestions are implemented, guests will feel more inclined to stay at the Hilton Worldwide as oppose to leading competitors despite the price. After all, quality always trumps quantity.

Leave a comment